Progress 8 and the English Baccalaureate

Progress 8

Progress 8 has replaced the previous system where students were measured on their ability to gain 5 GCSEs (including English and Maths).

The Progress 8 measure is designed to encourage schools to offer a broad and balanced curriculum at Key Stage 4 (GCSEs). The new measure will be based on students’ progress across eight subjects: English, mathematics, three other English Baccalaureate (EBacc) subjects (sciences, humanities and languages), and three further subjects, which can be from the range of EBacc subjects, or can be any other approved, high-value qualifications.
At Route 39 Academy we have designed our Challenge pathways to ensure that students can progress on to their next stage of education successfully. It is a curriculum designed to keep doors open.

English Baccalaureate

All Students have the opportunity to complete the English Baccalaureate. Students need to achieve GCSEs in English and Maths (at grade 5 or above) and  Science, Spanish and History (at grade 5 or above). All GCSEs are now graded on a 1-9 scale.

Which subjects do we offer?

Core Subjects

  • Mathematics
  • English Language
  • English Literature
  • Double Science
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Physics
  • Spanish
  • History


  • Physical Education
  • Art
  • Music